Something Worth Fighting For

Today is my 4-year anniversary with my boyfriend, Seth.  We have been dating since January of our freshman year of high school.  Our relationship has been long-distance ever since I moved to Wilson, North Carolina in December of our junior year of high school.  (I am currently a freshman in college.)

Being in a long-distance relationship is the hardest thing I’ve ever done.  It’s that weird phase where I have all of the commitments of having a boyfriend, yet very little of the companionship: I don’t have date nights on the weekends unless it’s with Skype, “I love you’s” are usually expressed in text messages, and Valentine’s Day is spent watching other couple’s cuddle and exchange stuffed animals.

The funny thing is that I really don’t care about Valentine’s Day.  It’s the little things that make me ache.  Not being able to cheer at my boyfriend’s soccer games with a home-made t-shirt.  Missing his 18th birthday.   Listening to the simplified, watered-down version of his day late at night, instead of just seeing it for myself.  He’s a freshman in college this year, and I have no idea who his friends are—I have to imagine the places he’s going to, and try to understand what it’s like to live there.  I can’t truly convey to him how amazing ECU football games are or how cluttered my dorm room is.

For a long time (and still to an extent today), none of our friends understood why we would put ourselves through that.  Strangers understood the situation even less.

         There are plenty of fish in the sea. Why don’t you just date other people?

         Wow, what do you do, kiss over Skype?

         You shouldn’t be in that serious of a relationship in high school.

There are always going to be people who don’t believe in what you’re doing.

Sometimes, I can’t stand it.  Sometimes, it drives me nuts that I don’t completely fit in with my single friends or my coupled friends.  Sometimes, I get so frustrated that me and my boyfriend’s schedules are so different that we can’t talk over Skype for the third night in a row.  Sometimes, I get so depressed that I don’t have my best friend by my side that I go through life without really living.  Sometimes I even wonder if I’m crazy for doing this.

But then, I finally get to see him through the computer screen late at night, or I’m finally meeting up with him for a summer break after a long period apart.  And then I realize just why I do this.

Because he is the best part of my life.  Because everything is so much more fun when I’m with him.  Because my life goes from black-and-white to color when he’s around.  Because he balances me.

No, I don’t have to be in a long-distance relationship.  But if you’ve got something good–something worth keeping–it’s worth fighting for.

Never stop fighting for the people and things you care about in your life, whether it be the loved ones from your past, the joy of the moment, or a dream for the future.

~~~

“FEARLESS is getting back up and fighting for what you want over and over again….even though every time you’ve tried before you’ve lost.”*   ― Taylor Swift

“Never let go of a good thing without a fight. Especially if that good thing is a pair of boxing gloves.”*   ― Jarod Kintz

“Three months ago, if you asked me, I would have told you that if you really loved someone, you’d let them go. But now I look at you, and I dreamed about Maggie, and I see that I’ve been wrong. If you really love someone, Allie, I think you have to take them back.”*   ― Jodi Picoult, Mercy

Sincerely, Erika

Image

Freshman Homecoming
2009

599813_3900016991873_126810956_n

After High School Graduation
July 2012

63710_575897465757384_147707645_n

Freshman Year of College
December 2012

*Quotes taken from http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/fighting?page=1.

2 thoughts on “Something Worth Fighting For

Leave a Reply

